Tajay Gayle, Fraser-Pryce head list of sportsman & sportswoman of the year awards


IAAF long jump champion Tajay Gayle and 100m women’s champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce headline the list of nominees for the 59th RJR/Gleaner national sportsman & sportswoman of the year awards.

Gayle who secured Jamaica’s first ever world long jump title and smashed the 21 year old national record leads at least five nominees on the men’s side.

He’s joined on the list by world championship discus silver medalist and national record holder Frederick Dacres, Jamaican-Caribbean squash champion Chris Binnie, Pan-Am diving silver medalist Yona Knight Wisdom and Pan-Am discus silver medalist Travis Smikle.