Premier League’s ‘big six’ agree to join new European Super league


Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham are among 12 clubs who have agreed to join a new European Super League (ESL).

In a seismic move for European football, the Premier League clubs will join AC Milan, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus and Real Madrid.

The ESL said the founding clubs had agreed to establish a “new midweek competition” and that the inaugural season “is intended to commence as soon as practicable”.

It also “anticipated that a further three clubs will join” the breakaway.